Southcentral Foundation Receives Second Malcolm Baldrige Award

Six years ago, Southcentral Foundation was awarded the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the highest presidential honor for performance excellence. Now, SCF has wowed for the second time.

On Nov. 16, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross announced that SCF was one of five organizations to be selected to receive the 2017 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

“When companies implement the ground-tested Baldrige approach, they create organizations that employees and customers love, that continually improve, and that produce innovative and outstanding results,” Ross said in his announcement.

More than 30 years ago, SCF started a journey to work with the Native Community to achieve wellness using a relationship-based, customer-owned approach to care. As the organization expanded to meet the needs of its customer-owners, it adopted the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence to help evaluate quality improvement efforts. The criteria cover seven areas: leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results. Those who participate in the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program and apply for the award are evaluated rigorously by an independent board of examiners using the Baldrige criteria.

Earlier this fall, SCF emerged as one of 14 finalists from a pool of 24 applicants. The finalists were identified as the country’s most innovative organizations by the National Institute for Standards and Technology.

After a September site visit where the Baldrige examiners further assessed SCF’s strengths and opportunities for improvement, it was determined that the organization had met the nation’s standards for this award.

“This award is a testament to the dedicated workforce at SCF, and our Tribal leadership who have transformed how health care is delivered to Alaska Native and American Indian people,” said SCF President/CEO Dr. Katherine Gottlieb. “Our commitment to excellence and innovation will benefit generations to come. I couldn’t be more proud to accept this honor on behalf of SCF.”

The U.S. Congress created the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program and the award in 1987 to disseminate and share best-practice performance strategies to help the nation make advancements in innovation and quality.

SCF is the only health care organization to receive the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award twice. Leadership will accept the award at the Baldrige National Quest for Excellence Conference on April 8.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.